Ian WronskiAugust 2017 marked the end of a long and valuable leadership role for Professor Ian Wronski.

After more than a decade as Chair of the Australian Council of Deans of Health Sciences, Professor Wronski initiated a planning process that would enable a structured handover to a new chair and larger executive committee. This is one of many changes implemented since Ian stepped into the role in 2005. Adopting a whole of health system perspective has underpinned Ian’s leadership and advocacy.

The Council was formed in the 1990s with a small group of universities meeting to discuss issues in common. By 2005, eleven universities from across Australia were members of the Council. Consolidating membership and networks was prioritized over rapid growth. Sixteen universities that provide pre-entry level education for the professions of allied health are now Council members.

During his time as ACDHS chair Ian lead the development of numerous submissions and has been a board member of the Independent Hospital Pricing Authority – Teaching, Training and Research Committee and a member of the Health Professions Education Standing Group of Universities Australia. Ian will remain on the Council Executive as Immediate Past Chair.

Ian has been awarded an Order of Australia for distinguished service to higher education, particularly in the areas of tropical, rural and Indigenous health; the Australasian College of Tropical Medal for ‘Outstanding contribution to tropical medicine’; the Life Sciences Queensland Industry Excellence Award; and has been made a Life Fellow of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine. He will continue with his numerous leadership roles including Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Division Tropical Medicine and Health at James Cook University, Board Member of the Townsville Health and Hospital Board and Executive Committee and Advisory Board of the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine (AITHM).